Muhammad Headed To The NBA

UCLA star freshman guard/forward Shabazz Muhammad, one of the most highly-touted freshman of the 2012 class, has officially announced that he will be entering this year’s NBA draft:

“I am so thankful for the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to play at UCLA and will always be proud to be a Bruin,” Muhammad said in a statement released by the school. “From a young age, I have dreamed of playing in the NBA, and I believe that this is the right time for me to move to the next level.”

“I have had an unbelievable experience at UCLA and am eternally grateful to my teammates, my coaches and the program’s support staff for helping me become a better person and basketball player during my time in Westwood. It has been an honor and a privilege to play for coach Ben Howland.”

Despite much scrutiny, Muhammad had a solid freshman campaign for the Bruins, leading the team in scoring at 17.9 points per game, which was fourth in the Pac-12. Before he season Muhammad was projected as one of the top prospects in the draft, but revelations of his age and other knocks on his game have dropped his stock in recent months. It was discovered that Muhammad is actually 20 instead of the 19-years old that was reported prior to his freshman season.

Muhammad is still projected as a potential lottery pick in this year’s draft.

