Drew Edwards Figuring Things Out

By Jamie Shaw

Recruiting is a process, the entire progression of events takes thoughts and careful evaluation. Though severely under the radar, Calvert Hall’s 2/1 combo guard Drew Edwards is ready to attack the process head on.
The 6’3 Edwards is blessed to currently have 14 offers, ranging from the Ivy League, to the Big East, to the ACC and everything between, Edwards not only has options but he also has some homework to do. With the options he has, his recruitment has been relatively quiet, however Edward is ready to start tackling the process, “I am not sure of Elite Camps I will be going to just yet, however I know I am going to visit Boston College, Southern Cal, and Kansas St officially this month.”
Being a Maryland native Edwards seems to have covered his geographical bases with an East Coast, West Coast, and Mid West team in the mix, “I want to see Boston College because they are in the ACC and that is a draw. Southern Cal has a strong Baltimore connection with Kevin Norris. I like the Kansas St coaches and the Big 12 League is a draw.” While Edwards says these three schools are at the top of his list, there are others that he is interested in learning a bit more about, “I like Virginia, Dayton, Arizona, and Richmond also, but those are my top schools in no particular order.”
Edwards, who plays AAU for the Maryland 3D program, is a natural combo guard who likes to be on the ball. A naturally aggressive scorer, Edwards can make shots from multiple areas of the court, at each level. In the half court setting, Edwards has the ability to handle as a secondary handler and get his team into sets.
On his visits, Edwards is looking for a place that really takes basketball seriously, a place that he is able to capitalize on his ceiling, “I want great crowds every night, and really just a huge college environment. I love a lot of people and love the top notch facilities too. I would also prefer the basketball areas to have their own specific equipment and areas just for them.”

